St Briavels Castle
St. Briavel’s Castle was built in the early 12th century around 1110. The official residence of the warden of the Forest of Dean, who was the protector of the royal hunting ground . The game was protected and the King alone was allowed to hunt in the forest. With the conquest of Wales completed by the end of the 15th century, the castle’s importance declined rapidly and unused buildings were demolished in 1680.Today St Briavel’s enjoys a peaceful life as a youth hostel with visitors sleeping in the old gatehouse prison. The gatehouse became a prison for those illegally hunting the King’s forest area. They were locked away here until they were sent for trial. The castle was still being used as a debtors’ prison up until 1842.
Are you brave enough to sleep the night in one those known haunted rooms? Visit the Hanging Room, so named as it was where prisoners awaited their execution by the rope. Some often experience the terrifying sensation of being gripped by the throat.
|[wpi_designer_button id=1919 link=”http://www.hauntedrooms.co.uk/events/st-briavels-castle-ghost-hunts?aff=31″]|